Meet our Commissioners

Matt Joseph 5x7.JPG

Matt Joseph, Commissioner

First elected to the Dayton City Commission in 2004, Matt Joseph is currently serving his fourth term. With extensive legislative and management experience, and a depth of civic and community service skills, he is dedicated to making Dayton a great place to live and a welcoming place to do business.

Jeffrey Mims 5x7.JPG

Jeffrey J. Mims, Jr., Commissioner

Commissioner Jeffrey J. Mims, Jr. joined the Commission in January of 2014 with a distinguished history in public service.

Commissioner Mims was the Third District Representative for the Ohio School Board and is past president of the Dayton Board of Education (2008-11), after retiring from Dayton Public Schools with more than 35 years of service, serving recently served as Director of Government and Community Relations and Compliance.

Chris Shaw_5x7.jpg

Christopher L. Shaw, Commissioner 

For more than 25 years, Christopher L. Shaw has operated a variety of successful business enterprises ranging from human resources consulting and business development, to commercial textile cleaning.

Chris is currently the owner/operator of a 107-year-old textile cleaning business. Shaw Cleaners is a full-service commercial and wholesale dry cleaning and laundry business. For almost 20 years Chris has grown the business into one of the Dayton region's premiere textile cleaning businesses specializing in the hospitality, logistics and entertainment industries.

Darryl Fairchild_2018 web size.jpg

Elected in May 2018, Darryl Fairchild is serving his first term on the Dayton City Commission. He's focused on promoting good schools that anchor safe neighborhoods, supported by living wage jobs. Dayton’s future depends on all three of these building blocks of a healthy community moving forward together. Quality schools, safe neighborhoods and good paying jobs will make Dayton the vital city all residents deserve. Elected in May 2018, Darryl Fairchild is serving his first term on the Dayton City Commission.